Automate the deletion of the old Index after a reindex

Merged Dmitry Gruzd requested to merge 225436-reindex-delete-original-index into master

What does this MR do?

This MR implements the automatic deletion of the original elasticsearch index after the reindexing process is completed.

#225436 (closed)

Migration output

$ VERSION=20200807132726 bin/rake db:migrate:up
== 20200807132726 AddDeleteOriginalIndexAtToReindexingTasks: migrating ========
-- add_column(:elastic_reindexing_tasks, :delete_original_index_at, :datetime_with_timezone)
   -> 0.0009s
== 20200807132726 AddDeleteOriginalIndexAtToReindexingTasks: migrated (0.0032s)

Migration Rollback

$ VERSION=20200807132726 bin/rake db:migrate:down
== 20200807132726 AddDeleteOriginalIndexAtToReindexingTasks: reverting ========
-- remove_column(:elastic_reindexing_tasks, :delete_original_index_at)
   -> 0.0018s
== 20200807132726 AddDeleteOriginalIndexAtToReindexingTasks: reverted (0.0047s)

Frontend changes

Screenshots

Warning message v.1

Screenshot_2020-08-11_at_12.50.44

Warning message v.2

Screenshot_2020-08-17_at_11.13.34

After the cancel button is pressed

Screenshot_2020-08-13_at_11.39.49

Does this MR meet the acceptance criteria?

Conformity

Availability and Testing

Security

If this MR contains changes to processing or storing of credentials or tokens, authorization and authentication methods and other items described in the security review guidelines:

  • Label as security and @ mention @gitlab-com/gl-security/appsec
  • The MR includes necessary changes to maintain consistency between UI, API, email, or other methods
  • Security reports checked/validated by a reviewer from the AppSec team

Closes #225436 (closed)

Edited by Dmitry Gruzd