• Jiri Olsa's avatar
    perf tools: Fix tracing_path_mount proper path · c458a620
    Jiri Olsa authored
    If there's no tracefs (RHEL7) support the tracing_path_mount
    returns debugfs path which results in following fail:
    
      # perf probe sys_write
      kprobe_events file does not exist - please rebuild kernel with CONFIG_KPROBE_EVENTS.
      Error: Failed to add events.
    
    In tracing_path_debugfs_mount function we need to return the
    'tracing' path instead of just the mount to make it work:
    
      # perf probe sys_write
      Added new event:
        probe:sys_write      (on sys_write)
    
      You can now use it in all perf tools, such as:
    
              perf record -e probe:sys_write -aR sleep 1
    
    Adding the 'return tracing_path;' also to tracing_path_tracefs_mount
    function just for consistency with tracing_path_debugfs_mount.
    
    Upstream keeps working, because it has the tracefs support.
    
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-yiwkzexq9fk1ey1xg3gnjlw4@git.kernel.orgSigned-off-by: 's avatarJiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
    Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
    Cc: Michael Petlan <mpetlan@redhat.com>
    Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
    Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
    Fixes: 23773ca1 ("perf tools: Make perf aware of tracefs")
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181016114818.3595-1-jolsa@kernel.orgSigned-off-by: 's avatarArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
    c458a620
Name
Last commit
Last update
..
fd Loading commit data...
fs Loading commit data...
Build Loading commit data...
Makefile Loading commit data...
cpu.c Loading commit data...
cpu.h Loading commit data...
debug-internal.h Loading commit data...
debug.c Loading commit data...
debug.h Loading commit data...