• Vlastimil Babka's avatar
    mm, tracing: unify mm flags handling in tracepoints and printk · 420adbe9
    Vlastimil Babka authored
    In tracepoints, it's possible to print gfp flags in a human-friendly
    format through a macro show_gfp_flags(), which defines a translation
    array and passes is to __print_flags().  Since the following patch will
    introduce support for gfp flags printing in printk(), it would be nice
    to reuse the array.  This is not straightforward, since __print_flags()
    can't simply reference an array defined in a .c file such as mm/debug.c
    - it has to be a macro to allow the macro magic to communicate the
    format to userspace tools such as trace-cmd.
    
    The solution is to create a macro __def_gfpflag_names which is used both
    in show_gfp_flags(), and to define the gfpflag_names[] array in
    mm/debug.c.
    
    On the other hand, mm/debug.c also defines translation tables for page
    flags and vma flags, and desire was expressed (but not implemented in
    this series) to use these also from tracepoints.  Thus, this patch also
    renames the events/gfpflags.h file to events/mmflags.h and moves the
    table definitions there, using the same macro approach as for gfpflags.
    This allows translating all three kinds of mm-specific flags both in
    tracepoints and printk.
    Signed-off-by: default avatarVlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
    Reviewed-by: default avatarMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
    Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
    Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
    Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
    Cc: Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>
    Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
    Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
    Cc: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com>
    Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
    Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    420adbe9
Name
Last commit
Last update
..
events Loading commit data...
define_trace.h Loading commit data...
perf.h Loading commit data...
syscall.h Loading commit data...
trace_events.h Loading commit data...