• Will Deacon's avatar
    Documentation: Use "while" instead of "whilst" · 806654a9
    Will Deacon authored
    Whilst making an unrelated change to some Documentation, Linus sayeth:
    
      | Afaik, even in Britain, "whilst" is unusual and considered more
      | formal, and "while" is the common word.
      |
      | [...]
      |
      | Can we just admit that we work with computers, and we don't need to
      | use þe eald Englisc spelling of words that most of the world never
      | uses?
    
    dictionary.com refers to the word as "Chiefly British", which is
    probably an undesirable attribute for technical documentation.
    
    Replace all occurrences under Documentation/ with "while".
    
    Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
    Cc: Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>
    Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
    Cc: Michael Halcrow <mhalcrow@google.com>
    Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
    Reported-by: 's avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarJonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
    806654a9
Name
Last commit
Last update
..
powercap Loading commit data...
regulator Loading commit data...
apm-acpi.txt Loading commit data...
basic-pm-debugging.txt Loading commit data...
charger-manager.txt Loading commit data...
drivers-testing.txt Loading commit data...
freezing-of-tasks.txt Loading commit data...
interface.txt Loading commit data...
opp.txt Loading commit data...
pci.txt Loading commit data...
pm_qos_interface.txt Loading commit data...
power_supply_class.txt Loading commit data...
runtime_pm.txt Loading commit data...
s2ram.txt Loading commit data...
suspend-and-cpuhotplug.txt Loading commit data...
suspend-and-interrupts.txt Loading commit data...
swsusp-and-swap-files.txt Loading commit data...
swsusp-dmcrypt.txt Loading commit data...
swsusp.txt Loading commit data...
tricks.txt Loading commit data...
userland-swsusp.txt Loading commit data...
video.txt Loading commit data...