1. 05 Mar, 2013 1 commit
  2. 31 Jul, 2012 1 commit
  3. 22 Mar, 2010 1 commit
    • Anton Blanchard's avatar
      ppc64 sys_ipc breakage in 2.6.34-rc2 · 45575f5a
      Anton Blanchard authored
      I chased down a fail on ppc64 on 2.6.34-rc2 where an application that
      uses shared memory was getting a SEGV.
      
      Commit baed7fc9 ("Add generic sys_ipc
      wrapper") changed the second argument from an unsigned long to an int.
      When we call shmget the system call wrappers for sys_ipc will sign
      extend second (ie the size) which truncates it.  It took a while to
      track down because the call succeeds and strace shows the untruncated
      size :)
      
      The patch below changes second from an int to an unsigned long which
      fixes shmget on ppc64 (and I assume s390, sparc64 and mips64).
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAnton Blanchard <anton@samba.org>
      --
      
      I assume the function prototypes for the other IPC methods would cause us
      to sign or zero extend second where appropriate (avoiding any security
      issues). Come to think of it, the syscall wrappers for each method should do
      that for us as well.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      45575f5a
  4. 12 Mar, 2010 1 commit
    • Christoph Hellwig's avatar
      Add generic sys_ipc wrapper · baed7fc9
      Christoph Hellwig authored
      Add a generic implementation of the ipc demultiplexer syscall.  Except for
      s390 and sparc64 all implementations of the sys_ipc are nearly identical.
      
      There are slight differences in the types of the parameters, where mips
      and powerpc as the only 64-bit architectures with sys_ipc use unsigned
      long for the "third" argument as it gets casted to a pointer later, while
      it traditionally is an "int" like most other paramters.  frv goes even
      further and uses unsigned long for all parameters execept for "ptr" which
      is a pointer type everywhere.  The change from int to unsigned long for
      "third" and back to "int" for the others on frv should be fine due to the
      in-register calling conventions for syscalls (we already had a similar
      issue with the generic sys_ptrace), but I'd prefer to have the arch
      maintainers looks over this in details.
      
      Except for that h8300, m68k and m68knommu lack an impplementation of the
      semtimedop sub call which this patch adds, and various architectures have
      gets used - at least on i386 it seems superflous as the compat code on
      x86-64 and ia64 doesn't even bother to implement it.
      
      [akpm@linux-foundation.org: add sys_ipc to sys_ni.c]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarChristoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
      Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
      Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarH. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
      Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
      Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
      Cc: Andreas Schwab <schwab@linux-m68k.org>
      Acked-by: default avatarJesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarRussell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
      Acked-by: default avatarDavid Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarKyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      baed7fc9