1. 31 Jul, 2012 1 commit
    • Akinobu Mita's avatar
      memory: memory notifier error injection module · 9579f5bd
      Akinobu Mita authored
      This provides the ability to inject artifical errors to memory hotplug
      notifier chain callbacks.  It is controlled through debugfs interface
      under /sys/kernel/debug/notifier-error-inject/memory
      
      If the notifier call chain should be failed with some events notified,
      write the error code to "actions/<notifier event>/error".
      
      Example: Inject memory hotplug offline error (-12 == -ENOMEM)
      
      	# cd /sys/kernel/debug/notifier-error-inject/memory
      	# echo -12 > actions/MEM_GOING_OFFLINE/error
      	# echo offline > /sys/devices/system/memory/memoryXXX/state
      	bash: echo: write error: Cannot allocate memory
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAkinobu Mita <akinobu.mita@gmail.com>
      Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
      Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@sisk.pl>
      Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au>
      Cc: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      9579f5bd