Commit d7206a70 authored by Naoya Horiguchi's avatar Naoya Horiguchi Committed by Linus Torvalds

mm/madvise: update comment on sys_madvise()

Some new MADV_* advices are not documented in sys_madvise() comment.  So
let's update it.

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: modifications suggested by Michal]
Signed-off-by: default avatarNaoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Acked-by: default avatarMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>
Cc: Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com>
Cc: Chen Gong <gong.chen@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent cecf257b
......@@ -639,14 +639,28 @@ madvise_behavior_valid(int behavior)
* some pages ahead.
* MADV_DONTNEED - the application is finished with the given range,
* so the kernel can free resources associated with it.
* MADV_FREE - the application marks pages in the given range as lazy free,
* where actual purges are postponed until memory pressure happens.
* MADV_REMOVE - the application wants to free up the given range of
* pages and associated backing store.
* MADV_DONTFORK - omit this area from child's address space when forking:
* typically, to avoid COWing pages pinned by get_user_pages().
* MADV_DOFORK - cancel MADV_DONTFORK: no longer omit this area when forking.
* MADV_HWPOISON - trigger memory error handler as if the given memory range
* were corrupted by unrecoverable hardware memory failure.
* MADV_SOFT_OFFLINE - try to soft-offline the given range of memory.
* MADV_MERGEABLE - the application recommends that KSM try to merge pages in
* this area with pages of identical content from other such areas.
* MADV_UNMERGEABLE- cancel MADV_MERGEABLE: no longer merge pages with others.
* MADV_HUGEPAGE - the application wants to back the given range by transparent
* huge pages in the future. Existing pages might be coalesced and
* new pages might be allocated as THP.
* MADV_NOHUGEPAGE - mark the given range as not worth being backed by
* transparent huge pages so the existing pages will not be
* coalesced into THP and new pages will not be allocated as THP.
* MADV_DONTDUMP - the application wants to prevent pages in the given range
* from being included in its core dump.
* MADV_DODUMP - cancel MADV_DONTDUMP: no longer exclude from core dump.
*
* return values:
* zero - success
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment