Commit 528871b4 authored by Ingo Molnar's avatar Ingo Molnar

perf/core: Fix impossible ring-buffer sizes warning

The following commit:

  9dff0aa9 ("perf/core: Don't WARN() for impossible ring-buffer sizes")

results in perf recording failures with larger mmap areas:

  root@skl:/tmp# perf record -g -a
  failed to mmap with 12 (Cannot allocate memory)

The root cause is that the following condition is buggy:

	if (order_base_2(size) >= MAX_ORDER)
		goto fail;

The problem is that @size is in bytes and MAX_ORDER is in pages,
so the right test is:

	if (order_base_2(size) >= PAGE_SHIFT+MAX_ORDER)
		goto fail;

Fix it.
Reported-by: default avatar"Jin, Yao" <yao.jin@linux.intel.com>
Bisected-by: b0R1sLAV's avatarBorislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Analyzed-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Julien Thierry <julien.thierry@arm.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Fixes: 9dff0aa9 ("perf/core: Don't WARN() for impossible ring-buffer sizes")
Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent 81ec3f3c
......@@ -734,7 +734,7 @@ struct ring_buffer *rb_alloc(int nr_pages, long watermark, int cpu, int flags)
size = sizeof(struct ring_buffer);
size += nr_pages * sizeof(void *);
if (order_base_2(size) >= MAX_ORDER)
if (order_base_2(size) >= PAGE_SHIFT+MAX_ORDER)
goto fail;
rb = kzalloc(size, GFP_KERNEL);
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment