Commit 33823f4d authored by Fenghua Yu's avatar Fenghua Yu Committed by Ingo Molnar

x86/cpufeatures: Enumerate MOVDIRI instruction

MOVDIRI moves doubleword or quadword from register to memory through
direct store which is implemented by using write combining (WC) for
writing data directly into memory without caching the data.

Programmable agents can handle streaming offload (e.g. high speed packet
processing in network). Hardware implements a doorbell (tail pointer)
register that is updated by software when adding new work-elements to
the streaming offload work-queue.

MOVDIRI can be used as the doorbell write which is a 4-byte or 8-byte
uncachable write to MMIO. MOVDIRI has lower overhead than other ways
to write the doorbell.

Availability of the MOVDIRI instruction is indicated by the presence of
the CPUID feature flag MOVDIRI(CPUID.0x07.0x0:ECX[bit 27]).

Please check the latest Intel Architecture Instruction Set Extensions
and Future Features Programming Reference for more details on the CPUID
feature MOVDIRI flag.
Signed-off-by: default avatarFenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@intel.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ravi V Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1540418237-125817-2-git-send-email-fenghua.yu@intel.comSigned-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent 034bda1c
......@@ -331,6 +331,7 @@
#define X86_FEATURE_LA57 (16*32+16) /* 5-level page tables */
#define X86_FEATURE_RDPID (16*32+22) /* RDPID instruction */
#define X86_FEATURE_CLDEMOTE (16*32+25) /* CLDEMOTE instruction */
#define X86_FEATURE_MOVDIRI (16*32+27) /* MOVDIRI instruction */
/* AMD-defined CPU features, CPUID level 0x80000007 (EBX), word 17 */
#define X86_FEATURE_OVERFLOW_RECOV (17*32+ 0) /* MCA overflow recovery support */
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment