Commit 20b2f52b authored by Lai Jiangshan's avatar Lai Jiangshan Committed by Linus Torvalds

numa: add CONFIG_MOVABLE_NODE for movable-dedicated node

We need a node which only contains movable memory.  This feature is very
important for node hotplug.  If a node has normal/highmem, the memory may
be used by the kernel and can't be offlined.  If the node only contains
movable memory, we can offline the memory and the node.

All are prepared, we can actually introduce N_MEMORY.
add CONFIG_MOVABLE_NODE make we can use it for movable-dedicated node

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix Kconfig text]
Signed-off-by: Lai Jiangshan's avatarLai Jiangshan <laijs@cn.fujitsu.com>
Tested-by: default avatarYasuaki Ishimatsu <isimatu.yasuaki@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarWen Congyang <wency@cn.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Jiang Liu <jiang.liu@huawei.com>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 68ae564b
......@@ -643,6 +643,9 @@ static struct node_attr node_state_attr[] = {
[N_NORMAL_MEMORY] = _NODE_ATTR(has_normal_memory, N_NORMAL_MEMORY),
#ifdef CONFIG_HIGHMEM
[N_HIGH_MEMORY] = _NODE_ATTR(has_high_memory, N_HIGH_MEMORY),
#endif
#ifdef CONFIG_MOVABLE_NODE
[N_MEMORY] = _NODE_ATTR(has_memory, N_MEMORY),
#endif
[N_CPU] = _NODE_ATTR(has_cpu, N_CPU),
};
......@@ -653,6 +656,9 @@ static struct attribute *node_state_attrs[] = {
&node_state_attr[N_NORMAL_MEMORY].attr.attr,
#ifdef CONFIG_HIGHMEM
&node_state_attr[N_HIGH_MEMORY].attr.attr,
#endif
#ifdef CONFIG_MOVABLE_NODE
&node_state_attr[N_MEMORY].attr.attr,
#endif
&node_state_attr[N_CPU].attr.attr,
NULL
......
......@@ -380,7 +380,11 @@ enum node_states {
#else
N_HIGH_MEMORY = N_NORMAL_MEMORY,
#endif
#ifdef CONFIG_MOVABLE_NODE
N_MEMORY, /* The node has memory(regular, high, movable) */
#else
N_MEMORY = N_HIGH_MEMORY,
#endif
N_CPU, /* The node has one or more cpus */
NR_NODE_STATES
};
......
......@@ -143,6 +143,14 @@ config NO_BOOTMEM
config MEMORY_ISOLATION
boolean
config MOVABLE_NODE
boolean "Enable to assign a node which has only movable memory"
depends on HAVE_MEMBLOCK
depends on NO_BOOTMEM
depends on X86_64
depends on NUMA
default y
# eventually, we can have this option just 'select SPARSEMEM'
config MEMORY_HOTPLUG
bool "Allow for memory hot-add"
......
......@@ -89,6 +89,9 @@ nodemask_t node_states[NR_NODE_STATES] __read_mostly = {
[N_NORMAL_MEMORY] = { { [0] = 1UL } },
#ifdef CONFIG_HIGHMEM
[N_HIGH_MEMORY] = { { [0] = 1UL } },
#endif
#ifdef CONFIG_MOVABLE_NODE
[N_MEMORY] = { { [0] = 1UL } },
#endif
[N_CPU] = { { [0] = 1UL } },
#endif /* NUMA */
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment