Commit 183f6371 authored by Mel Gorman's avatar Mel Gorman Committed by Linus Torvalds

mm: ignore mempolicies when using ALLOC_NO_WATERMARK

The reserve is proportionally distributed over all !highmem zones in the
system.  So we need to allow an emergency allocation access to all zones.
In order to do that we need to break out of any mempolicy boundaries we
might have.

In my opinion that does not break mempolicies as those are user oriented
and not system oriented.  That is, system allocations are not guaranteed
to be within mempolicy boundaries.  For instance IRQs do not even have a
mempolicy.

So breaking out of mempolicy boundaries for 'rare' emergency allocations,
which are always system allocations (as opposed to user) is ok.
Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Signed-off-by: default avatarMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de>
Cc: Mike Christie <michaelc@cs.wisc.edu>
Cc: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net>
Cc: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>
Cc: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <sebastian@breakpoint.cc>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent cfd19c5a
......@@ -2378,6 +2378,13 @@ __alloc_pages_slowpath(gfp_t gfp_mask, unsigned int order,
/* Allocate without watermarks if the context allows */
if (alloc_flags & ALLOC_NO_WATERMARKS) {
/*
* Ignore mempolicies if ALLOC_NO_WATERMARKS on the grounds
* the allocation is high priority and these type of
* allocations are system rather than user orientated
*/
zonelist = node_zonelist(numa_node_id(), gfp_mask);
page = __alloc_pages_high_priority(gfp_mask, order,
zonelist, high_zoneidx, nodemask,
preferred_zone, migratetype);
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment