• Paul Gortmaker's avatar
    security: audit and remove any unnecessary uses of module.h · 876979c9
    Paul Gortmaker authored
    Historically a lot of these existed because we did not have
    a distinction between what was modular code and what was providing
    support to modules via EXPORT_SYMBOL and friends.  That changed
    when we forked out support for the latter into the export.h file.
    This means we should be able to reduce the usage of module.h
    in code that is obj-y Makefile or bool Kconfig.
    
    The advantage in removing such instances is that module.h itself
    sources about 15 other headers; adding significantly to what we feed
    cpp, and it can obscure what headers we are effectively using.
    
    Since module.h might have been the implicit source for init.h
    (for __init) and for export.h (for EXPORT_SYMBOL) we consider each
    instance for the presence of either and replace as needed.
    
    Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
    Cc: "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>
    Cc: John Johansen <john.johansen@canonical.com>
    Cc: Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.ibm.com>
    Cc: Dmitry Kasatkin <dmitry.kasatkin@gmail.com>
    Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
    Cc: linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org
    Cc: linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org
    Cc: keyrings@vger.kernel.org
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarPaul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarJames Morris <james.morris@microsoft.com>
    876979c9
commoncap.c 38.9 KB