• Rob Herring's avatar
    kbuild: consolidate Devicetree dtb build rules · 37c8a5fa
    Rob Herring authored
    There is nothing arch specific about building dtb files other than their
    location under /arch/*/boot/dts/. Keeping each arch aligned is a pain.
    The dependencies and supported targets are all slightly different.
    Also, a cross-compiler for each arch is needed, but really the host
    compiler preprocessor is perfectly fine for building dtbs. Move the
    build rules to a common location and remove the arch specific ones. This
    is done in a single step to avoid warnings about overriding rules.
    
    The build dependencies had been a mixture of 'scripts' and/or 'prepare'.
    These pull in several dependencies some of which need a target compiler
    (specifically devicetable-offsets.h) and aren't needed to build dtbs.
    All that is really needed is dtc, so adjust the dependencies to only be
    dtc.
    
    This change enables support 'dtbs_install' on some arches which were
    missing the target.
    Acked-by: 's avatarWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
    Acked-by: 's avatarPaul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>
    Acked-by: 's avatarLey Foon Tan <ley.foon.tan@intel.com>
    Acked-by: 's avatarMasahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>
    Cc: Michal Marek <michal.lkml@markovi.net>
    Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
    Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
    Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
    Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
    Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
    Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
    Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>
    Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
    Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
    Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
    Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
    Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>
    Cc: linux-kbuild@vger.kernel.org
    Cc: linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org
    Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
    Cc: uclinux-h8-devel@lists.sourceforge.jp
    Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org
    Cc: nios2-dev@lists.rocketboards.org
    Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
    Cc: linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org
    Signed-off-by: Rob Herring's avatarRob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
    37c8a5fa
Makefile.lib 14.6 KB