• Dave Hansen's avatar
    mm/resource: Return real error codes from walk failures · 88f0ced0
    Dave Hansen authored
    [ Upstream commit 5cd401ac ]
    
    walk_system_ram_range() can return an error code either becuase
    *it* failed, or because the 'func' that it calls returned an
    error.  The memory hotplug does the following:
    
    	ret = walk_system_ram_range(..., func);
            if (ret)
    		return ret;
    
    and 'ret' makes it out to userspace, eventually.  The problem
    s, walk_system_ram_range() failues that result from *it* failing
    (as opposed to 'func') return -1.  That leads to a very odd
    -EPERM (-1) return code out to userspace.
    
    Make walk_system_ram_range() return -EINVAL for internal
    failures to keep userspace less confused.
    
    This return code is compatible with all the callers that I
    audited.
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarDave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
    Reviewed-by: 's avatarBjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
    Acked-by: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> (powerpc)
    Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
    Cc: Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@intel.com>
    Cc: Ross Zwisler <zwisler@kernel.org>
    Cc: Vishal Verma <vishal.l.verma@intel.com>
    Cc: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
    Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
    Cc: linux-nvdimm@lists.01.org
    Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
    Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
    Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
    Cc: Fengguang Wu <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
    Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
    Cc: Yaowei Bai <baiyaowei@cmss.chinamobile.com>
    Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
    Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
    Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
    Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
    Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
    Cc: Keith Busch <keith.busch@intel.com>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarDan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarSasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
    88f0ced0
resource.c 40.4 KB