• Frederic Weisbecker's avatar
    tick: Rename tick_check_idle() to tick_irq_enter() · 5acac1be
    Frederic Weisbecker authored
    This makes the code more symetric against the existing tick functions
    called on irq exit: tick_irq_exit() and tick_nohz_irq_exit().
    
    These function are also symetric as they mirror each other's action:
    we start to account idle time on irq exit and we stop this accounting
    on irq entry. Also the tick is stopped on irq exit and timekeeping
    catches up with the tickless time elapsed until we reach irq entry.
    
    This rename was suggested by Peter Zijlstra a long while ago but it
    got forgotten in the mass.
    
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
    Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    Cc: Alex Shi <alex.shi@linaro.org>
    Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
    Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
    Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@linaro.org>
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1387320692-28460-2-git-send-email-fweisbec@gmail.comSigned-off-by: default avatarFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
    5acac1be
softirq.c 18.3 KB