• Thomas Petazzoni's avatar
    inflate: refactor inflate malloc code · 2d6ffcca
    Thomas Petazzoni authored
    Inflate requires some dynamic memory allocation very early in the boot
    process and this is provided with a set of four functions:
    malloc/free/gzip_mark/gzip_release.
    
    The old inflate code used a mark/release strategy rather than implement
    free.  This new version instead keeps a count on the number of outstanding
    allocations and when it hits zero, it resets the malloc arena.
    
    This allows removing all the mark and release implementations and unifying
    all the malloc/free implementations.
    
    The architecture-dependent code must define two addresses:
     - free_mem_ptr, the address of the beginning of the area in which
       allocations should be made
     - free_mem_end_ptr, the address of the end of the area in which
       allocations should be made. If set to 0, then no check is made on
       the number of allocations, it just grows as much as needed
    
    The architecture-dependent code can also provide an arch_decomp_wdog()
    function call.  This function will be called several times during the
    decompression process, and allow to notify the watchdog that the system is
    still running.  If an architecture provides such a call, then it must
    define ARCH_HAS_DECOMP_WDOG so that the generic inflate code calls
    arch_decomp_wdog().
    
    Work initially done by Matt Mackall, updated to a recent version of the
    kernel and improved by me.
    
    [akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes]
    Signed-off-by: Thomas Petazzoni's avatarThomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@free-electrons.com>
    Cc: Matt Mackall <mpm@selenic.com>
    Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
    Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
    Cc: Mikael Starvik <mikael.starvik@axis.com>
    Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>
    Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com>
    Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
    Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
    Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
    Acked-by: default avatarPaul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
    Acked-by: default avatarYoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    2d6ffcca
inflate.c 38.6 KB