• Mel Gorman's avatar
    netvm: allow skb allocation to use PFMEMALLOC reserves · c93bdd0e
    Mel Gorman authored
    Change the skb allocation API to indicate RX usage and use this to fall
    back to the PFMEMALLOC reserve when needed.  SKBs allocated from the
    reserve are tagged in skb->pfmemalloc.  If an SKB is allocated from the
    reserve and the socket is later found to be unrelated to page reclaim, the
    packet is dropped so that the memory remains available for page reclaim.
    Network protocols are expected to recover from this packet loss.
    
    [a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl: Ideas taken from various patches]
    [davem@davemloft.net: Use static branches, coding style corrections]
    [sebastian@breakpoint.cc: Avoid unnecessary cast, fix !CONFIG_NET build]
    Signed-off-by: default avatarMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
    Acked-by: default avatarDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
    Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de>
    Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
    Cc: Mike Christie <michaelc@cs.wisc.edu>
    Cc: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net>
    Cc: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>
    Cc: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <sebastian@breakpoint.cc>
    Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
    Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    c93bdd0e
gfp.h 14.5 KB