Commit e6112fc3 authored by Anshuman Khandual's avatar Anshuman Khandual Committed by Greg Kroah-Hartman

mm/migrate.c: split only transparent huge pages when allocation fails

split_huge_page_to_list() fails on HugeTLB pages.  I was experimenting
with moving 32MB contig HugeTLB pages on arm64 (with a debug patch
applied) and hit the following stack trace when the kernel crashed.

[ 3732.462797] Call trace:
[ 3732.462835]  split_huge_page_to_list+0x3b0/0x858
[ 3732.462913]  migrate_pages+0x728/0xc20
[ 3732.462999]  soft_offline_page+0x448/0x8b0
[ 3732.463097]  __arm64_sys_madvise+0x724/0x850
[ 3732.463197]  el0_svc_handler+0x74/0x110
[ 3732.463297]  el0_svc+0x8/0xc
[ 3732.463347] Code: d1000400 f90b0e60 f2fbd5a2 a94982a1 (f9000420)

When unmap_and_move[_huge_page]() fails due to lack of memory, the
splitting should happen only for transparent huge pages not for HugeTLB
pages.  PageTransHuge() returns true for both THP and HugeTLB pages.
Hence the conditonal check should test PagesHuge() flag to make sure that
given pages is not a HugeTLB one.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1537798495-4996-1-git-send-email-anshuman.khandual@arm.com
Fixes: 94723aaf ("mm: unclutter THP migration")
Signed-off-by: default avatarAnshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
Acked-by: default avatarMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Acked-by: default avatarNaoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Zi Yan <zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
parent 59cf0a93
......@@ -1414,7 +1414,7 @@ int migrate_pages(struct list_head *from, new_page_t get_new_page,
* we encounter them after the rest of the list
* is processed.
*/
if (PageTransHuge(page)) {
if (PageTransHuge(page) && !PageHuge(page)) {
lock_page(page);
rc = split_huge_page_to_list(page, from);
unlock_page(page);
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment