Commit da436528 authored by Dan Carpenter's avatar Dan Carpenter Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

lib/string.c: check for kmalloc() failure

This is mostly to keep the number of static checker warnings down so we
can spot new bugs instead of them being drowned in noise.  This function
doesn't return normal kernel error codes but instead the return value is
used to display exactly which memory failed.  I chose -1 as hopefully
that's a helpful thing to print.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170817115420.uikisjvfmtrqkzjn@mwanda

Signed-off-by: default avatarDan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <mawilcox@microsoft.com>
Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>
Cc: Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Daniel Micay <danielmicay@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 895a6072
......@@ -1059,7 +1059,11 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL(fortify_panic);
static __init int memset16_selftest(void)
{
unsigned i, j, k;
u16 v, *p = kmalloc(256 * 2 * 2, GFP_KERNEL);
u16 v, *p;
p = kmalloc(256 * 2 * 2, GFP_KERNEL);
if (!p)
return -1;
for (i = 0; i < 256; i++) {
for (j = 0; j < 256; j++) {
......@@ -1091,7 +1095,11 @@ static __init int memset16_selftest(void)
static __init int memset32_selftest(void)
{
unsigned i, j, k;
u32 v, *p = kmalloc(256 * 2 * 4, GFP_KERNEL);
u32 v, *p;
p = kmalloc(256 * 2 * 4, GFP_KERNEL);
if (!p)
return -1;
for (i = 0; i < 256; i++) {
for (j = 0; j < 256; j++) {
......@@ -1123,7 +1131,11 @@ static __init int memset32_selftest(void)
static __init int memset64_selftest(void)
{
unsigned i, j, k;
u64 v, *p = kmalloc(256 * 2 * 8, GFP_KERNEL);
u64 v, *p;
p = kmalloc(256 * 2 * 8, GFP_KERNEL);
if (!p)
return -1;
for (i = 0; i < 256; i++) {
for (j = 0; j < 256; j++) {
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment