Commit 7526aa54 authored by Will Deacon's avatar Will Deacon

MAINTAINERS: Add entry for MMU GATHER AND TLB INVALIDATION

We recently had to debug a TLB invalidation problem on the munmap()
path, which was made more difficult than necessary because:

  (a) The MMU gather code had changed without people realising
  (b) Many people subtly misunderstood the operation of the MMU gather
      code and its interactions with RCU and arch-specific TLB invalidation
  (c) Untangling the intended behaviour involved educated guesswork and
      plenty of discussion

Hopefully, we can avoid getting into this mess again by designating a
cross-arch group of people to look after this code. It is not intended
that they will have a separate tree, but they at least provide a point
of contact for anybody working in this area and can co-ordinate any
proposed future changes to the internal API.

Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: "Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
parent 196d9d8b
......@@ -9681,6 +9681,19 @@ S: Maintained
F: arch/arm/boot/dts/mmp*
F: arch/arm/mach-mmp/
MMU GATHER AND TLB INVALIDATION
M: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
M: "Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
M: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
M: Nick Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
M: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
L: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
L: linux-mm@kvack.org
S: Maintained
F: arch/*/include/asm/tlb.h
F: include/asm-generic/tlb.h
F: mm/mmu_gather.c
MN88472 MEDIA DRIVER
M: Antti Palosaari <crope@iki.fi>
L: linux-media@vger.kernel.org
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment