Commit 27556568 authored by Nathan Chancellor's avatar Nathan Chancellor Committed by Greg Kroah-Hartman

efi/libstub: Disable some warnings for x86{,_64}

[ Upstream commit 3db5e0ba ]

When building the kernel with Clang, some disabled warnings appear
because this Makefile overrides KBUILD_CFLAGS for x86{,_64}. Add them to
this list so that the build is clean again.

-Wpointer-sign was disabled for the whole kernel before the beginning of Git history.

-Waddress-of-packed-member was disabled for the whole kernel and for
the early boot code in these commits:

  bfb38988 ("kbuild: clang: Disable 'address-of-packed-member' warning")
  20c6c189 ("x86/boot: Disable the address-of-packed-member compiler warning").

-Wgnu was disabled for the whole kernel and for the early boot code in
these commits:

  61163efa ("kbuild: LLVMLinux: Add Kbuild support for building kernel with Clang")
  6c3b56b1 ("x86/boot: Disable Clang warnings about GNU extensions").

 [ mingo: Made the changelog more readable. ]
Tested-by: default avatarSedat Dilek <sedat.dilek@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Nathan Chancellor's avatarNathan Chancellor <natechancellor@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarArd Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Reviewed-by: default avatarSedat Dilek <sedat.dilek@gmail.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Arend van Spriel <arend.vanspriel@broadcom.com>
Cc: Bhupesh Sharma <bhsharma@redhat.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Eric Snowberg <eric.snowberg@oracle.com>
Cc: Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>
Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
Cc: Jon Hunter <jonathanh@nvidia.com>
Cc: Julien Thierry <julien.thierry@arm.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>
Cc: Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Sai Praneeth Prakhya <sai.praneeth.prakhya@intel.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: YiFei Zhu <zhuyifei1999@gmail.com>
Cc: linux-efi@vger.kernel.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181129171230.18699-8-ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org
Link: https://github.com/ClangBuiltLinux/linux/issues/112Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarSasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
parent 1da48f58
......@@ -9,7 +9,10 @@ cflags-$(CONFIG_X86_32) := -march=i386
cflags-$(CONFIG_X86_64) := -mcmodel=small
cflags-$(CONFIG_X86) += -m$(BITS) -D__KERNEL__ -O2 \
-fPIC -fno-strict-aliasing -mno-red-zone \
-mno-mmx -mno-sse -fshort-wchar
-mno-mmx -mno-sse -fshort-wchar \
-Wno-pointer-sign \
$(call cc-disable-warning, address-of-packed-member) \
$(call cc-disable-warning, gnu)
# arm64 uses the full KBUILD_CFLAGS so it's necessary to explicitly
# disable the stackleak plugin
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment