Dashboard todos no longer shows SAML session expired message

Today I noticed my Todo counter said 6, but I only saw 4 todos. I also noticed when I visited the merge request dashboard I saw the banner below. This prompted me to reauthenticate with SAML. After doing so I could now see all 6 todos.

In dashboard Todos, there has previously been two different ways in which a user is notified that their SAML session is expired and todos may not be shown.

  1. A banner indicating one or more group SAML sessions are expired. This feature was owned/contributed by groupauthentication

Screenshot_2025-08-27_at_3.49.43_PM

  1. A todo in the list may be shown but the contents masked, prompting the user to re-authenticate to view the todo. This feature was not owned/contributed by groupauthentication and I'm not sure who does.

I could not find a screenshot of this feature. It was a much more recent addition than the banner. I wonder if the banner was removed once we added the masked todo, but then at some point the masked todo either broke or was also removed.

Proposed fixes

  1. Find and fix or reintroduce the todo masking feature.
  2. Reintroduce the banner, which is still present on dashboard issues and merge requests.
Edited by 🤖 GitLab Bot 🤖