GitLab Migration - Refreshing the page reverts to default parent group if "No parent" was selected

Summary

When using GitLab Group Migration and refreshing the page while a migration is in progress, the selected target parent group is lost. This issue is just cosmetic, as the migration is completed correctly.

Steps to reproduce

  1. Navigate to the Group Migration page (https://gitlab.com/import/bulk_imports/status)
  2. Select "No parent" for the destination
  3. Start a migration that takes some time (30s+)
  4. Once the migration shows in progress ("Importing..."), refresh the page
  5. Notice that the "To new group" (parent) group has been replaced with the default, instead of "No parent"

Also reproduced in this video: https://youtu.be/hxiR-wRUChQ?t=213

What is the current bug behavior?

After refresh, "To new group" shows the default parent group name.

What is the expected correct behavior?

After refresh, "To new group" shows "No parent".

Relevant logs and/or screenshots

Edited by Illya Klymov