index.md 4.04 KB
Newer Older
1 2
# User account

3
When signed into their GitLab account, users can customize their
4 5
experience according to the best approach to their cases.

6 7 8 9 10
## Signing in

There are several ways to sign into your GitLab account.
See the [authentication topic](../../topics/authentication/index.md) for more details.

11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
## User profile

Your profile is available from the up-right corner menu bar (user's avatar) > **Profile**,
or from `https://example.gitlab.com/username`.

On your profile page, you will see the following information:

- Personal information
- Activity stream: see your activity streamline and the history of your contributions
- Groups: [groups](../group/index.md) you're a member of
21
- Contributed projects: [projects](../project/index.md) you contributed to
22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32
- Personal projects: your personal projects (respecting the project's visibility level)
- Snippets: your personal code [snippets](../snippets.md#personal-snippets)

## Profile settings

You can edit your account settings by navigating from the up-right corner menu bar
(user's avatar) > **Settings**, or visiting `https://example.gitlab.com/profile`.

From there, you can:

- Update your personal information
33
- Manage [2FA](account/two_factor_authentication.md)
34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41
- Change your username and [delete your account](account/delete_account.md)
- Manage applications that can
[use GitLab as an OAuth provider](../../integration/oauth_provider.md#introduction-to-oauth)
- Manage [personal access tokens](personal_access_tokens.md) to access your account via API and authorized applications
- Add and delete emails linked to your account
- Manage [SSH keys](../../ssh/README.md#ssh) to access your account via SSH
- Manage your [preferences](preferences.md#syntax-highlighting-theme)
to customize your own GitLab experience
42
- [View your active sessions](active_sessions.md) and revoke any of them if necessary
43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66
- Access your audit log, a security log of important events involving your account

## Changing your username

Your `username` is a unique [`namespace`](../group/index.md#namespaces)
related to your user ID. Changing it can have unintended side effects, read
[how redirects will behave](../project/index.md#redirects-when-changing-repository-paths)
before proceeding.

To change your `username`:

1. Navigate to your [profile's](#profile-settings) **Settings > Account**.
1. Enter a new username under "Change username".
1. Hit **Update username**.

CAUTION: **Caution:**
It is currently not possible to change your username if it contains a
project with [Container Registry](../project/container_registry.md) tags,
because the project cannot be moved.

TIP: **Tip:**
If you want to retain ownership over the original namespace and
protect the URL redirects, then instead of changing a group's path or renaming a
username, you can create a new group and transfer projects to it.
67 68 69
Alternatively, you can follow [this detailed procedure from the GitLab Team Handbook](https://about.gitlab.com/handbook/tools-and-tips/#how-to-change-your-username-at-gitlabcom)
which also covers the case where you have projects hosted with
[GitLab Pages](../project/pages/index.md).
70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90

## Troubleshooting

### Why do I keep getting signed out?

When signing in to the main GitLab application, a `_gitlab_session` cookie is
set. `_gitlab_session` is cleared client-side when you close your browser
and expires after "Application settings -> Session duration (minutes)"/`session_expire_delay`
(defaults to `10080` minutes = 7 days).

When signing in to the main GitLab application, you can also check the
"Remember me" option which sets the `remember_user_token`
cookie (via [`devise`](https://github.com/plataformatec/devise)).
`remember_user_token` expires after
`config/initializers/devise.rb` -> `config.remember_for` (defaults to 2 weeks).

When the `_gitlab_session` expires or isn't available, GitLab uses the `remember_user_token`
to get you a new `_gitlab_session` and keep you signed in through browser restarts.

After your `remember_user_token` expires and your `_gitlab_session` is cleared/expired,
you will be asked to sign in again to verify your identity (which is for security reasons).