Deleting a user deletes sub-group when other owners are inherited
Deleting a user and contributions mentions that only groups owned solely by the user will be removed. There seems to be an edge case with sub-groups that can cause a group to be deleted despite having other inherited/parent owners.
Steps to reproduce:
user1creates a top-level group
user2to the top-level group
user2creates a sub-group within this top-level group. This makes
user2the sole explicit owner of the group, however
user1is an inherited owner from the top-level group.
user1or someone else deletes
user2along with contributions.
- Observe that the sub-group no longer exists.
To highlight again, this seems to be due to the sub-group being owned explicitly at that level by the deleted user. We must not be taking inherited owners into account here. Interestingly, this problem does not occur with projects in a similar situation. That is, if
user2 created a project in the top-level group and is subsequently deleted, the project remains.
@jeremy Does this fall within Manage?