Disabling "Remember Me" doesn't work

I'm running GitLab-CE on my own server (8.2.1 at the moment). I noticed some time ago that when I sign in and have "Remember Me" unchecked, then close out the browser and open it back up, when I connect to the GitLab server, I am still logged in to the web interface.

I would expect that having "Remember Me" unchecked would mean that when I close the browser I am no longer logged in.

I have tried this on multiple operating systems and multiple browsers, and they all seem to behave the same. I've also tried it with Two-Factor on and off. It doesn't make a difference. With "Remember Me" unchecked, I am still logged in after closing the browser.

I tried on the forums and the group to see if others experienced this issue too, but haven't gotten any replies. Which is why I am posting here.