Commit af590783 authored by Achilleas Pipinellis's avatar Achilleas Pipinellis 🇬🇷

Merge branch '42212-order-of-steps-in-auto-devops-do' into 'master'

Resolve "Order of steps in Auto DevOps documentation"

Closes #42212

See merge request gitlab-org/gitlab-ce!16576
parents d6e63f98 cd967383
Pipeline #16460527 passed with stages
in 52 minutes and 38 seconds
......@@ -21,10 +21,10 @@ project in an easy and automatic way:
1. [Auto Code Quality](#auto-code-quality)
1. [Auto SAST (Static Application Security Testing)](#auto-sast)
1. [Auto SAST for Docker images](#auto-sast-for-docker-images)
1. [Auto DAST (Dynamic Application Security Testing)](#auto-dast)
1. [Auto Browser Performance Testing](#auto-browser-performance-testing)
1. [Auto Review Apps](#auto-review-apps)
1. [Auto DAST (Dynamic Application Security Testing)](#auto-dast)
1. [Auto Deploy](#auto-deploy)
1. [Auto Browser Performance Testing](#auto-browser-performance-testing)
1. [Auto Monitoring](#auto-monitoring)
As Auto DevOps relies on many different components, it's good to have a basic
......@@ -229,6 +229,32 @@ check out.
In GitLab Enterprise Edition Ultimate, any security warnings are also
[shown in the merge request widget](https://docs.gitlab.com/ee/user/project/merge_requests/sast_docker.html).
### Auto Review Apps
NOTE: **Note:**
This is an optional step, since many projects do not have a Kubernetes cluster
available. If the [prerequisites](#prerequisites) are not met, the job will
silently be skipped.
CAUTION: **Caution:**
Your apps should *not* be manipulated outside of Helm (using Kubernetes directly.)
This can cause confusion with Helm not detecting the change, and subsequent
deploys with Auto DevOps can undo your changes. Also, if you change something
and want to undo it by deploying again, Helm may not detect that anything changed
in the first place, and thus not realize that it needs to re-apply the old config.
[Review Apps][review-app] are temporary application environments based on the
branch's code so developers, designers, QA, product managers, and other
reviewers can actually see and interact with code changes as part of the review
process. Auto Review Apps create a Review App for each branch.
The Review App will have a unique URL based on the project name, the branch
name, and a unique number, combined with the Auto DevOps base domain. For
example, `user-project-branch-1234.example.com`. A link to the Review App shows
up in the merge request widget for easy discovery. When the branch is deleted,
for example after the merge request is merged, the Review App will automatically
be deleted.
### Auto DAST
> Introduced in [GitLab Enterprise Edition Ultimate][ee] 10.4.
......@@ -256,32 +282,6 @@ Auto Browser Performance Testing utilizes the [Sitespeed.io container](https://h
In GitLab Enterprise Edition Premium, performance differences between the source and target branches are [shown in the merge request widget](https://docs.gitlab.com/ee/user/project/merge_requests/browser_performance_testing.html).
### Auto Review Apps
NOTE: **Note:**
This is an optional step, since many projects do not have a Kubernetes cluster
available. If the [prerequisites](#prerequisites) are not met, the job will
silently be skipped.
CAUTION: **Caution:**
Your apps should *not* be manipulated outside of Helm (using Kubernetes directly.)
This can cause confusion with Helm not detecting the change, and subsequent
deploys with Auto DevOps can undo your changes. Also, if you change something
and want to undo it by deploying again, Helm may not detect that anything changed
in the first place, and thus not realize that it needs to re-apply the old config.
[Review Apps][review-app] are temporary application environments based on the
branch's code so developers, designers, QA, product managers, and other
reviewers can actually see and interact with code changes as part of the review
process. Auto Review Apps create a Review App for each branch.
The Review App will have a unique URL based on the project name, the branch
name, and a unique number, combined with the Auto DevOps base domain. For
example, `user-project-branch-1234.example.com`. A link to the Review App shows
up in the merge request widget for easy discovery. When the branch is deleted,
for example after the merge request is merged, the Review App will automatically
be deleted.
### Auto Deploy
NOTE: **Note:**
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment