democratic-future.md 6.41 KB
Newer Older
1 2
This is a subjective, imperfect and partial list of some of the organisations, ideas and projects which are interlocking pieces of a more empowering, democratic society. There is no single idea which should be worked on first, we need transformations in each field and we need people putting their time in wherever they have the need or desire to help out. Some are working on 'big' problems, others smaller. 

3
My loose criteria for inclusion on this list are: 
4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

- Does this idea/project empower and educate those who engage with it to have more knowledge and agency about the topic?
- Does it provide easy access to tools, knowledge and support to a broad base of citizens, not just those with money, connections or institutional backing?
- Does it use a more democratic form of governance or ownership that traditional models which tend toward inequality?
- is it transparent, evidence-based and accountable?

Not all of these projects fulfill all criteria, and the list is at a very, very early stage. Most projects make their tools and knowledge available [open source](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Open_source) for anyone to use. Suggestions welcome via pull request or [twitter](https://twitter.com/cameralibre).

### Architecture & Housing
[WikiHouse](http://www.wikihouse.cc)  
['Scaling the Citizen Sector' whitepaper](https://medium.com/@AlastairParvin/scaling-the-citizen-sector-20a20dbb7a4c)  
[Open Building Institute](http://openbuildinginstitute.org)  
[BitHouse](https://www.bithouse.io/)  
Sam Muirhead's avatar
Sam Muirhead committed
17 18
[Embassy Network](https://embassynetwork.com/)  
[Open Architecture Collaborative](http://www.openarchcollab.org/about-us)  
19 20

### Art
Sam Muirhead's avatar
Sam Muirhead committed
21 22
[Ampliative Art](http://www.ampliativeart.org/en/welcome)  

23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34
### Activism
[Tactical Technology Collective](https://tacticaltech.org)  
[Rise Up](https://riseup.net)  
[CrowdVoice](http://crowdvoice.org/)  
 
### Agriculture & Food
[Community-Supported Agriculture](http://urgenci.net/)  
[New Harvest](http://www.new-harvest.org/)  
[Permaculture](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Permaculture)  
[GreenWave](greenwave.org/about-us)  
[The Food Assembly](https://thefoodassembly.com/en)  

35 36 37
### Basic Income
[Mein Grundeinkommen](https://www.mein-grundeinkommen.de/blog/1282)

38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45
### Climate change 
[Project Drawdown](http://www.drawdown.org)  
[Resilience.io](http://resilience.io)  

### Cinema 
[Blender Open Movies](https://www.blender.org/institute)  
[Apertus Cinema Camera Ecosystem](https://www.apertus.org)  
[Female Filmmakers Initiative](https://womeninfilm.org/ffi)  
Sam Muirhead's avatar
Sam Muirhead committed
46
[Members' Media](http://www.membersmedia.net/about)
47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56

### Circular economy 
[Open Source Circular Economy days](https://oscedays.org)  _*full disclosure, I'm part of the team behind this one :)_  

### Civic Tech
[g0v](http://g0v.asia)

### Consumer electronics
[Fairphone](https://www.fairphone.com)  

Sam Muirhead's avatar
Sam Muirhead committed
57 58 59
### Corporations
[B Corporations](http://www.bcorporation.net/)  

60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82
### Data 
[Open Knowledge](https://okfn.org)  
[Open Data Institute](http://theodi.org)  

### Debt
[Debt Collective](https://debtcollective.org/)  

### Decision-making 
[Loomio](https://www.loomio.org)  

### Design
[Open Structures](http://beta.openstructures.net/pages/2#vraag-1a)

### E-commerce 
[FairMondo](https://www.fairmondo.de/global)  

### Energy
[Energy Co-ops](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Utility_cooperative)  
[European Federation for Renewable Energy Cooperatives](https://rescoop.eu/)  

### Extractive industries
[Open Oil](http://openoil.net)  

Sam Muirhead's avatar
Sam Muirhead committed
83 84 85
### Fashion/Consumer Products
[Impossible](http://buyimpossible.com/pages/about-us)

86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94
### Journalism 
[Knight Foundation](http://www.knightfoundation.org)  
[Citizen Desk](https://www.sourcefabric.org/en/citizendesk)  
[Banyan Project](http://banyanproject.coop)  

### Health & Social Care
[OpenCare](http://opencare.cc/)  
[Buurtzorg](https://translate.google.com/translate?sl=auto&tl=en&js=y&prev=_t&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.buurtzorgnederland.com%2F&edit-text=&act=url)  

Sam Muirhead's avatar
Sam Muirhead committed
95 96 97 98
### Internet access & infrastructure 
[Freifunk](https://freifunk.net/en)  
[Guifi Net](https://guifi.net/en)  

99 100 101
### Knowledge
[Wikimedia](https://www.wikimedia.org)  
[Just for the Record](http://justfortherecord.space)  
102
[Archive.org](https://archive.org/)  
103

104
### Legal
Sam Muirhead's avatar
Sam Muirhead committed
105 106
[Creative Commons](https://creativecommons.org/)  
[Legal Hackers](http://legalhackers.org/)  
107

108 109 110 111 112
### Manufacturing 
[Fab Labs](https://www.fablabs.io)  

### Music 
[Resonate](https://resonate.is)  
Sam Muirhead's avatar
Sam Muirhead committed
113 114
[CASH Music](https://cashmusic.org)  
[Free Music Archive](http://freemusicarchive.org/about)  
115 116 117 118 119

### Money in commons (good!)
[Cobudget](http://cobudget.co)  
[Balance](http://balance.sharett.org)  
[Robin Hood Coop](http://robinhoodcoop.org/)  
120 121
[Liberapay](https://liberapay.com/)  
[FairCoin](https://fair-coin.org/)  
Sam Muirhead's avatar
Sam Muirhead committed
122
[Gratipay](https://gratipay.com/)  
123 124 125 126

### Money in politics (bad!)
[Rootstrikers](http://www.rootstrikers.org)  
[Represent.us](https://represent.us)  
Sam Muirhead's avatar
Sam Muirhead committed
127
[Equal Citizens](http://www.equalcitizens.us/)  
128 129 130 131 132

### [Platform] Cooperatives 
[Internet of Ownership](http://internetofownership.net)  
[#WeAreTwitter](https://www.change.org/p/twitter-inc-free-twitter-from-wall-street)  
[FairShares](http://www.fairshares.coop)  
Sam Muirhead's avatar
Sam Muirhead committed
133
[Common Futures](http://commonfutures.eu/)  
134 135 136 137 138 139

### Political engagement
[d-cent](http://dcentproject.eu)  
[DiEm25](https://diem25.org/)  
[Pirate Parties](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pirate_Party)  

Sam Muirhead's avatar
Sam Muirhead committed
140 141 142
### Radio
[WFMU](https://wfmu.org/about/)

143 144 145 146 147 148
### Science 
[Public Laboratory for Open Technology and Science](https://publiclab.org)  
[La Paillasse](http://lapaillasse.org)  
[Center for Open Science](https://centerforopenscience.org)  
[Open Science Framework](https://osf.io)  
[Open Access movement](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Open_access)  
149
[Public Library of Science](https://www.plos.org/)  
150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179

### Software/digital rights
[Free Software Foundation](http://www.fsf.org)  
[Electronic Frontier Foundation](https://www.eff.org)  
[CryptoParty](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CryptoParty)  
[International Modern Media Institute](https://en.immi.is/)

### Sustainable hardware 
[Good Tech](http://goodtech.cc)  
[Open Source Ecology](http://opensourceecology.org)  
[Appropedia](http://www.appropedia.org)  
[POC21](http://poc21.cc)

### Repair 
[The Restart Project](https://therestartproject.org)  

### Transport/Rideshare
[Arcade City](https://arcade.city)  

### Travel 
[BeWelcome](https://www.bewelcome.org)  

### Uncategorized organisations
[Enspiral](http://enspiral.com/)  
[OuiShare](http://ouishare.net/en)  
[P2P Foundation](http://p2pfoundation.net)  
[Waag Society](http://waag.org/en)