Commit 056cd473 authored by Vesa-Pekka Palmu's avatar Vesa-Pekka Palmu

Add bdf fonts

parent 3355b222
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
The identity of the designer(s) of the original ASCII repertoire and
the later Latin-1 extension of the misc-fixed BDF fonts appears to
have been lost in history. (It is likely that many of these 7-bit
ASCII fonts were created in the early or mid 1980s as part of MIT's
Project Athena, or at its industrial partner, DEC.)
In 1997, Markus Kuhn at the University of Cambridge Computer
Laboratory initiated and headed a project to extend the misc-fixed BDF
fonts to as large a subset of Unicode/ISO 10646 as is feasible for
each of the available font sizes, as part of a wider effort to
encourage users of POSIX systems to migrate from ISO 8859 to UTF-8.
Robert Brady <rwb197@ecs.soton.ac.uk> and Birger Langkjer
<birger.langkjer@image.dk> contributed thousands of glyphs and made
very substantial contributions and improvements on almost all fonts.
Constantine Stathopoulos <cstath@irismedia.gr> contributed all the
Greek characters. Markus Kuhn <http://www.cl.cam.ac.uk/~mgk25/> did
most 6x13 glyphs and the italic fonts and provided many more glyphs,
coordination, and quality assurance for the other fonts. Mark Leisher
<mleisher@crl.nmsu.edu> contributed to 6x13 Armenian, Georgian, the
first version of Latin Extended Block A and some Cyrillic. Serge V.
Vakulenko <vak@crox.net.kiae.su> donated the original Cyrillic glyphs
from his 6x13 ISO 8859-5 font. Nozomi Ytow <nozomi@biol.tsukuba.ac.jp>
contributed 6x13 halfwidth Katakana. Henning Brunzel
<hbrunzel@meta-systems.de> contributed glyphs to 10x20.bdf. Theppitak
Karoonboonyanan <thep@linux.thai.net> contributed Thai for 7x13,
7x13B, 7x13O, 7x14, 7x14B, 8x13, 8x13B, 8x13O, 9x15, 9x15B, and 10x20.
Karl Koehler <koehler@or.uni-bonn.de> contributed Arabic to 9x15,
9x15B, and 10x20 and Roozbeh Pournader <roozbeh@sharif.ac.ir> and
Behdad Esfahbod revised and extended Arabic in 10x20. Raphael Finkel
<raphael@cs.uky.edu> revised Hebrew/Yiddish in 10x20. Jungshik Shin
<jshin@pantheon.yale.edu> prepared 18x18ko.bdf. Won-kyu Park
<wkpark@chem.skku.ac.kr> prepared the Hangul glyphs used in 12x13ja.
Janne V. Kujala <jvk@iki.fi> contributed 4x6. Daniel Yacob
<perl@geez.org> revised some Ethiopic glyphs. Ted Zlatanov
<tzz@lifelogs.com> did some 7x14. Mikael Öhman <micketeer@gmail.com>
worked on 6x12.
The fonts are still maintained by Markus Kuhn and the original
distribution can be found at:
http://www.cl.cam.ac.uk/~mgk25/ucs-fonts.html
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
This diff is collapsed.
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment